Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 1

Hey y’all and Happy #TravelThursday!

Welcome to the first post in my Road, Let’s Travel series! This is the one that I am most looking forward to. Road, Let’s Travel will be place where I document my travels, past and current. I want to remember the places that I have visited and the things I wasn’t able to blog about (since I didn’t have a blog), but kept track of on paper. When I travel, I am always writing down the things I did and the places I visited. I can’t wait to translate that into this blog!

“Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all of one’s lifetime.” – Mark Twain

The next few RLTs will be all about my trip to New York City in May 2016. I did everything imaginable during my weeklong trip to the Big Apple, so I hope you enjoy seeing it all unfold here on the bloggity blog!

Day 1 (Wednesday, May 11, 2016): 

We left for New York City bright and early at 6 A.M. By the time we actually got to the city, it was later in the afternoon. Flying into the LaGuardia aiport was a cool experience because all you saw were buildings (note: I would not recommend flying into LGA, because it is super cramped). It is truly the concrete jungle (where dreams are made of, if I’m Alicia Keys.)

Here is a picture I took from the plane as we were landing at LaGuardia. There are so many buildings compact into one city. It’s crazy! 

IMG_0414.JPG

For dinner, we ate at Sylvia’s Harlem Restaurant. It was a neat experience because of the history of the restaurant. It was so cool to see all of the pictures on the wall because so many famous people have eaten there, including (but not limited to) President Obama.

This was the only picture I got at Sylvia’s – which is slightly disappointing. You can’t even see “Sylvia’s” because it’s covered with leaves. My luck!

MNXW6582.jpg

From dinner, we went to the ever-so-famous Apollo Theater. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to go when a big name was performing, but, we did go on Amateur Night. The talent in that building was amazing! From young to old, there were so many fun acts.

The Apollo Theater

IMG_0505.jpg

That was Day 1! If you want to see what Day 2 had in store, be sure to check back next Thursday!

6 thoughts on “Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 1

  1. laurennicolewrites says:

    I love everything about this series! What a fun way to reflect! I’ve always wanted to go to New York. I actually just finished taking a jazz history class in college, so I find it so awesome that you were able to go to the Apollo, especially on amateur night!

    Like

Leave a Reply

