Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 2

Hey y’all and welcome back to New York City my blog! 

Today’s post is going to be JAM PACKED with a lot of good stuff. Let’s get started, because it’s going to be a long one.

Day 2 (Thursday, May 12, 2016)

The first thing on the list for day 2 was a tour of the United Nations. It was so interesting to learn about the relations of various countries, see where they meet, and learn about what they discuss. If you’re in to politics and are interested in seeing what goes on behind closed doors, I would definitely recommend visiting here and taking the tour.

All of the countries’ flags of the United Nations.

IMG_0580.JPG

Me and B at the United Nations (with the city behind us). 

IMG_3693.jpg

Next, we stopped for lunch at Lombardi’s, America’s first pizzeria. I went with the traditional pepperoni, because, if it isn’t broke, then don’t fix it. Ha. In reality, I have a hard time stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to food, because I am so picky!  You can call me crazy, but this was not my favorite – although, everybody else in the group really enjoyed it. 

After Lombardi’s, we went to the Tenement Museum. If you want to learn about the Irish culture, immigrants and the difficult conditions that they had to live in, I would definitely suggest going here. The museum is an actual building that many families lived in. We went on the Hard Times tour, but there are many different ones that the museum does.

The day continued with a somber tone (because, let’s be honest… the Tenement Museum was not light hearted) as we went to the 911 Memorial. The images and artifacts (letters, remaining pieces of buildings, etc.) are haunting. September 11, 2001 is such an important day in our nation’s history. I can’t begin to imagine the pain that so many families faced and are still facing to this day. I had chills the whole time I was here. 

The wall of blue: “No day shall erase you from the memory of time.” – Virgil

IMG_0729.JPG

The new World Trade Center

IMG_0601.jpg

After many tears, it was nice to finally head over to Yankee Stadium to watch the New York Yankees and the Kansas City Royals play some baseball. Side note – my dad is a college baseball coach, so I am always down to watch a baseball game. His favorite team is the Yankees (ironically – mine is the Royals), so it was cool to watch a team I’ve grown up watching in person! 

Yankee Stadium

IMG_0784.JPG

Finally, to end our day, we stopped where life/the party never stops: Times Square. This place was filled with people, like sardines in a can. The lights are blinding with all of the billboards and you have consistent honking and screaming (I’m not even exaggerating). Because it’s a tourist destination, there are various groups of people walking the block. I loved seeing the different cultures and hearing so many conversations in different languages. I had never been to Times Square, so it was really a neat experience as I took it all in. And, take it all in you do. All 5 senses are being used when you’re here. At once.

I wasn’t lying when I said the second day of the trip was full. It was emotional, but there were also many laughs and many good times! Day 3 was way more relaxing. Check back next Thursday to continue on this trip with me!

If you missed Day 1 of my trip to New York City, you can click HERE to read all about it.

3 thoughts on “Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 2

Leave a Reply

