Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 3

Hey y’all and welcome to day three of my trip to New York City!

If you saw last week’s Road, Let’s Travel (link at the bottom of this post), then you will know that day 2 was so busy. But, have no fear, day 3 was way more calm! Here we go!

Day 3 (Friday, May 13, 2016)

The first thing on the day’s to-do list was to take the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We also went to the Ellis Island museum. It was so neat to see such a historical place where millions of people – our ancestors – have walked, been declined, and entered this country. If I’m being honest, I got kind of emotional thinking about the depth of it.

The Statue of Liberty and the city – one of my favorite photos that I took, as it kind of shows the representation of our nation’s hopes and dreams. People came to our country to live a free life and to escape persecution of various types. I’m always so amazed when I think about that magnitude.

IMG_0981.JPG

For lunch, we stopped at Tick Tock diner, because it was near the hotel. I was expecting it to be below average, but I got an avocado and chicken sandwich that was surprisingly delicious! Always remember to never judge a book by it’s cover (or a restaurant by the building).

Later in the afternoon, we headed out for a ride on a clipper ship out of Battery Park. This was a 2 hour ride that took us out near the Statue of Liberty, the Brooklyn Bridge and other areas of the city at night. It was so calming, the sunset was picturesque, and I got some really good photos!

Here’s another one of my favorite pictures from the trip. The beauty of this Statue is amazing!

IMG_1002.JPG

This is my favorite picture from this trip. I grew to have a love for this city that I cannot explain. I am so looking forward to being able to go back.

IMG_1013.JPG

For a very late dinner, we headed to Les Halles. This food was absolutely amazing – the chicken was some of the best I’ve ever had! (Sadly, as I was googling to link-up the restaurant, it appears that it has been permanently closed).

Check back next Thursday to see day 4 of the trip.

If you’ve missed the previous days, you can click the links below to see what all I did and saw:

Day 1

Day 2

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Road, Let’s Travel – New York City (May, 16): Day 3

Leave a Reply

