Faith Filled Friday – Quiet Time Essentials

Hey y’all and Happy Friday!

I am a firm believer in quiet time. This could be 10 minutes that you set aside each day to compose yourself and gather your thoughts (I often do this before I leave for class) or time that you designate to draw closer to God and to read the Bible, do a devotion, or pray (maybe all three). Whatever floats your boat, ya know?

Here are three things that I find to be essential for a good quiet time:

No Distractions – I think this one is pretty obvious, but it the number one thing that you need when having quiet time in my opinion. I make sure I’m secluded in an area where there aren’t people or pets running around, I keep the computer off, my phone on silent and where I cannot see or touch it, and the T.V. is off. Sometimes, I play a good Gospel playlist at a peaceful volume (Chris Tomlin, Kari Jobe, Lauren Daigle, and Natalie Grant are some of my absolute favorites). The less distractions you have, the more your mind can focus on what is important.

Burning a Candle or Diffusing Essential Oils – I find that lighting a good candle or diffusing an essential oil blend helps my attention and keeps me at peace. I really like diffusing lavender. Most essential oil brands also have a blend that helps with focusing. I have found Ellia’s Be Centered or Young Living’s Brain Power to work well, too! As far as candles, I love a good bakery smelling one (Bath and Body Works’ Cinnamon Nut Bread is one of my favorites). But, really, any candle that you find works is good! As long as it’s lit. 😉

Bible or Good Devotion – If you’re using quiet time to draw closer to God, this is almost a necessity! Obviously, you don’t need this, but it always helps. I use a study Bible. I’ve also found some really good (free) devotions on Bible.com that I love. They have some that are 3 days long and others that last a year.

It is important that you pick a spot (go here every time during your quiet time), pick a time, and make it consistent!

I have more that I could add, so, if you want to see another post regarding quiet time, let me know.

Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Faith Filled Friday – Quiet Time Essentials

  1. laurennicolewrites says:

    I’d love to see another post on this in the future! I love hearing how others do their quiet time so I can get ideas for my own 🙂 If you are into essential oils, I’d love to hear your thoughts on some good ones one day as well! I have wanted to get a diffuser for forever but never really knew where to start on what scents to get!

    Like

    • kennedyberryblog says:

      Awesome! I’m no expert on scents (I don’t really know what all of the benefits are of certain scents.) But, I do know that I love peppermint, so, I’m constantly diffusing that one. Maybe I’ll make a post about that! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

