Road, Let’s Travel – Chicago (December, 2016): Days 2 and 3

Hey y’all!

Today, I’m documenting the last two days of my Chicago trip. If you missed the first day and want to see what it was all about, you should go back and check that out. 😉

Day 2 (Saturday, Dec. 10)

Day 2 of the quick, weekend trip started out bright and early because we had to trek to Soldier Field for the annual Ugly Sweater Run. Let it be known that I bought my “ugly” sweater (I actually thought it was cute) the night before on a whim at Forever 21 because I had nada-nothing-zilch to wear to the run/walk. Let it also be known that it was the coldest day I’ve experienced in a while and had so many layers on that you couldn’t even see the sweater.

Soldier Field – I was wondering when Kristen Cavallari (Jay Cutler’s, QB for the Bears, wife and former The Hills star) was going to jump out at me! I was slightly bummed that I didn’t spot her.

IMG_5456.JPG

Me, Pam and my mom at the starting line before the race began. Don’t let the look of excitement on my face fool you. It was miserably cold. I was miserable. 

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Here is our group with Santa after the race. (From left to right: Kim, Kennedy, Connie, Karen, Santa, Pam, Carla, Keelyn, Denise)

IMG_4274.JPG

Once the walk – I refuse to call it run because we all know that I do not run – was over, we went back to our hotel to tidy warm up.

After we shopped ’til we dropped, we headed to Gino’s East to get our deep dish pizza on. The last time I was in Chicago, we attempted to get into Gino’s, but it was an hour and 45 minute wait. Yes, 1:45. We waited the first 30 minutes and then lost hope and ditched. But this time? We waited 15 SECONDS. Thank you, snow! It started snowing early afternoon and by evening, there was nobody on the roads. It was glorious!

Oh, cousin (and blurry picture) love.

IMG_4282.JPG

IMG_4281.JPG

Getting a serious picture of Keelyn and me is darn-near impossible. We are constantly laughing and hamming it up for the cam! 

After we got our grub on, we went to Millennium Park and took pictures at the bean. D demonstrated the true way to experience the bean – laying on your back underneath of it. I’m a major germaphobe, but didn’t want to miss out on the experience. It was so cool! And, then, we continued our shopping adventures. I truly think we hit every store on Michigan Ave between the 3 days.

This is hands down my favorite picture ever. If only my mom was looking at the camera! 

IMG_4285.JPG

Karen, Kennedy (hey, that’s me!), Keelyn, Denise and Pam at the Bean

FullSizeRender.jpg

I highly suggest you go to Chicago around Christmas. It was so stinking pretty! This tree? Yes, please!

IMG_3659.JPG

After our shenanigans out and about were done for the day, we headed to the hotel and played too many rounds of Heads Up. Day 2 was jam packed, but so worth it!

Day 3 (Sunday, Dec. 11)

On the third day, God created more shopping. I kid, I kid. But, seriously. We shopped. Again. It was a great way to wind down the trip. And then, we headed to O’Hare and prayed to Jesus that we wouldn’t get snowed in. We somehow lucked out and the flight to Dallas before ours was the one that got scratched. We had an hour delay, but made it home in one piece!

Thanks for re-experiencing this trip with me! It was a fun girls’ weekend that needs to happen again. Soon.

Leave a Reply

