Road Let’s Travel: Washington, D.C. (February 10)

Hey y’all!

If you don’t follow the Instagram account for my blog or actually read my blog, then you wouldn’t know that I took a quick trip to Washington D.C. back earlier this month. Also, you should go follow my IG, because, sometimes, I post over there (@kennedyberryblog). I posted about day 1 (February 9) – which was really just a flight there. We left Dallas at 7 PM and landed in D.C. at 11 PM. By the time that we got our bags, got our shuttles situated, and checked in to the hotel, it was close to 1 AM. (If you want to read about the flight, I blogged about it in my Luck of the Irish post. Basically, I’m Irish – I actually have no idea about this – and I have awful luck – this I know for a fact.) It was long, exhausting and exhilarating – you know how it feels when you’re traveling to a place you’ve never been before.

Looking back, I’m really disappointed in myself for not taking too many pictures. Don’t get me wrong – I took pictures. But, I wish I would’ve taken more. Sometimes, though, I think it’s best to be in the moment rather than looking through your camera lens. I think experiencing a city with so much history qualifies as one of those moments.

Let’s get on to the first “actual” day, shall we?

After what seemed like a nap, it was time to begin our day. I’m serious when I say that I take naps longer than the amount of sleep I got on Thursday night. We woke up on 3-ish hours of sleep and began our day!

The first thing on the list was to go to the White House and Lafayette Park. Originally, we had tours of the White House scheduled. But, in case you’ve been living under a rock since January 20, we have a new President. From what I understand, because of the transition period, tours were actually shut down for the time being. So, unfortunately, all we got was the pretty view from outside the White House. Hahaha. Did I say pretty view? Y’all. There was a CHAIN LINKED FENCE AROUND THE PRESIDENT’S RESIDENCE. There was no view. The viewing box from the inauguration was in the process of being taken down so you couldn’t see much. It was a major let down! That was the one thing that I was super excited to see and it was just a punch in the gut. All kidding aside, the White House is way smaller than I would’ve guessed. Next time the News shows the White House, they need to put a disclaimer that says, “Objects on the screen are larger than they appear in person.”

From the White House, we trekked to the Capitol. The Capitol building sits on top of a hill. We joked that they don’t call it “Capitol Hill” for nothing. That hill was a dang workout. If you need a good booty and like to run, this would be the hill to run.

IMG_8695.JPG

This view makes it almost worth the hike. 😉

Our next stop, the Library of Congress, was one of my favorite stops on the trip. It is such a gorgeous building, both outside and in. The ceilings in all of these buildings were my absolute favorite because they had so much detail (it’s the little things, friends). To be honest, that was really the only thing I took pictures of inside. Most of the places that we visited didn’t allow you to take pictures inside, so, boo! How lame, right?!

IMG_8641.JPG

Uhm, hi. Is this not a gorgeous room?! This is the reading room in the Library. Anybody who has an access card can get in. And, get this. YOU can get an access card. It’s supposedly an easy process and you just have to apply!

But, then. We did my favorite thing ever.

We got a behind the scenes tour of the House chamber of the Capitol. And… We went on the freakin’ FLOOR OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. If you’re not into politics, that means nothing to you. But for me? This was a huge deal. Only relatives of House members are allowed to step foot on this floor. I am also able to say that I walked on the House Floor before President Trump, so BAM! Seriously, thank you to George Cartagena, the current Assistant Chief Clerk (who is not reading this). He was the absolute nicest guy ever! Generous people make my world go ’round.

From there, we walked to Union Station to grab a bite to eat while we waited for the trolley for our Moonlight Tour. I had Shake Shack (one of my favorites), but there are a lot of different places to eat here. And, y’all. The chicken sandwich at Shake Shack is to die for. Seriously. I’d sell my first born child for it.

To end the night, we went on the Moonlight Trolley Tour. It was cool to see all of the city’s sights, but, because you’re on the trolley, you can’t really see the city’s sights. It was cool to learn about the various stops though!

IMG_8678.JPG

This is one of many great views (from the 6) that you get when you’re actually inside the trolley. Shaky quality, blury windows… thankfully we stopped at some destinations. Otherwise, it would’ve been a total buzz kill.

IMG_8694.JPG

One place the trolley *did* stop at was the Lincoln Memorial. This is the very spot where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. gave his “I Have a Dream” speech. Y’all know (or, should) that MLK Jr. is one of my favorite humans to walk the Earth, so this was very special to me.

I honestly can’t remember what we did on this trip after this particular day. I have to keep going and looking at the itinerary because it’s all a blur. I am 99% sure I was running on adrenaline the whole time. Be on the lookout for day 3. I promise it will come eventually! I am so, so, so busy right now – but I’m trying so, so, so hard to make time for the blog!

Thanks for reading!

I’ll see y’all next post!

 

3 thoughts on “Road Let’s Travel: Washington, D.C. (February 10)

Leave a Reply

