No Appointments Required

Hey y’all!

When I’m writing this, on March 8, it’s International Women’s Day. Happy IWD to all of the badass women out there! Girl power. Forever! The future is female and I can’t wait to see what all of the tough, sophisticated, smart and awesomely rad females do in the coming days, months and years.

In a few months, I’m transferring colleges. Today, I was scheduled to go figure out my advising situation. They don’t take appointments, so I was slightly hesitant and nervous about it all. If you know me, you know that I like things to have a designated time and place. If I need to meet with somebody, I need a designated meeting time and place (also known as an appointment). So, this whole “walk in and we’ll get you covered” thing just stressed me out.

I woke up on this particular day feeling super uneasy about the whole day. I just wasn’t feeling it. I called my mom and told her I thought I was forgetting paperwork, something hadn’t been turned it, etc. I couldn’t quite pinpoint it, but I brought my uneasiness to her attention.

At 10:45 AM, I read online that there had been a power outage on campus. I called the advising office and they told me that their power was off and on, but that they’d still be there advising until 6, regardless of the power situation. I didn’t even hesitate at this point. I got in the car and drove the 2+ hours.

My mom and I got there and noticed the parking lots to be eerily empty. I automatically knew something was up. We walked up to the advising office and, sure enough, figured it out. The damn place was closed. I had just wasted my mom’s valuable time and my time (not-so-valuable). 2+ hours there, 2+ hours back, plus an hour to find parking, etc. Wasted. Gone. Time I could never get back.

I’m a very anxious person by nature. I panic and freak out over meaningless situations – most are scenarios that are made up in my head. But, I was pretty proud of myself because I didn’t freak out too bad or have a panic attack. I had a brief moment of anger (the “Why TF did I just drive here and nobody called and told me that it would be closed when I JUST asked?” kind). But, I was relatively calm. I had an odd sense of peace that I typically don’t have.

The first thing I asked my mom was, “How is God using me right now? Why is this happening to me? How is it according to His plan?” I understand that things happen for a reason, but sometimes we don’t understand those. For me, I really struggle with why things happen. And, to be honest, I’m still not sure I quite understand why a full day was “wasted.” Maybe in God’s eyes it wasn’t.

Flash forward to this evening when I was reading my devotions (I’m playing catch up from missing days while I was in Washington, D.C.). Here are two verses that caught my attention:

“My son, keep your father’s commands and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.” – Proverbs 6:20 (NIV)

“The Lord gives strength to His people. The Lord blesses His people with peace.” – Psalm 29:11 (NIV)

Proverbs 6:20 – My parents, leading up to the day, had been telling me that I could talk to an advisor they knew. I would be able to do it via phone, rather than make the drive and do it in person (which I had to physically make time for). But, I knew I was right. HA. I didn’t listen to them and demanded that my way was the right and only way. It even led to arguments the night(s) before. Maybe the Lord was proving to me that I should obey my parents, respect them, and listen to them. He was probably also showing me that I’m not always right, despite what I may want to believe sometimes. Sometimes we have to listen to Him and others around us.

Psalm 29:11 – Peace. He brings us peace in times that we may need it the most. When I saw the lights off in the advising office, I was upset, yes, but I had a sense of peace. A calming. I can’t explain this (odd) sense of peace other than Jesus.

It was a crazy day. Exhausting. And, I’m glad it’s behind me. There were little things aside from the advising mess that were off for me. A lot of little things that kept going wrong (wrong is perspective… maybe they go right in the Lord’s eyes). It was the equivalent of a Friday the 13th for me. March 8, you are not my friend.

I hope your Wednesday was better! And, happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

