Weekend Happenings – St. Patrick’s Day and Austin Edition

Hey y’all and Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a great weekend. I figured I’d give you an look inside my life from the last few days. If you saw my planner for the weekend, you’d want to close your eyes and move on to the next week. Sometimes, all you want is a weekend to sleep, but life decides that you don’t need sleep.

Thursday – March 16

For the most part, my school does not have classes on Friday (I, however, do have a class that meets occasionally on Fridays). That means that my weekends tend to start on Thursdays! How awesome is that? I’m going to be out of luck when I transfer next semester, ha! Like I said, this is technically the weekend for me most weekends. Thus, it is being included in this post.

On this particular Thursday, I had biology from 8-11 AM.  After class, I ran and grabbed lunch and then went and got my hair cut. I have the most boring, thick hair, so I like to change it up every now and again. And, by “change it up,” I mean chop 5 inches off and call it good.

But, the highlight of my day was traveling to watch my brother, J, play baseball. He’s a freshman in high school (insert crying face here) and made the JV baseball team! He goes to a 6A  school (in Texas, school districts are categorized by size, with 1A schools being the smallest and 6A being the largest), so to make JV and actually play is kind of a big deal. I’m not one to get too sappy, but, sometimes -just sometimes- he makes me proud. He pitched really well, got the W, and even said hi to me, so I’d call it a win. 😉

Friday – March 17

First thing’s first, I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with the sweet (dog) child of mine. If you love her face as much as I do, you can follow the Instagram account that I set up for her – @corathebulldog.

FullSizeRender

I mean… who couldn’t love this fact? Right?!

You know how I said I sometimes have class on Fridays? Well, this week I didn’t have class. Instead, we traveled as a group to Austin to go to the State Capitol. My sister took me to the Capitol for my 18th birthday because she decided I need to be educated about our great state. 😉

FullSizeRender-1

I didn’t realize how overcast it was and the terrible picture quality until I went to put this photo in the post. In case you were at all curious, here is the Texas State Capitol building.

From the State Capitol, we headed over to the Lyndon B. Johnson library. My Presidential knowledge is lacking, so I didn’t realize or understand the magnitude to President Johnson’s presidency. He was heavily involved in civil rights, outlawing racial segregation and providing equal opportunities regardless of race. As I was walking through the library (also known as a museum) I saw two quotes that really just jumped off of the walls at me.

“It is the excitement of becoming – always becoming, trying, probing, falling, resting, and trying again – but always trying and always gaining…” – President Lyndon B. Johnson

“There are no problems which we cannot solve together, and there are very few which any of us can settle by himself.” – President Lyndon B. Johnson

Once we rolled back into town, I had dinner with my mom and then went to watch the varsity baseball game at my alma mater. Boom. I’m tired.

Saturday – March 18

Today consisted of nannying and more baseball. You’d think I’d get tired of it, right? I don’t, but you would think. I got to sleep in and woke up at 7! Since when did sleeping in mean 7? Ha! Welcome to adulthood.

I got up, got ready, and went to work – nannying 3 girls, ages 5, 5, and 1. If you want to add to your exhaustion, take care of 3 girls younger than 6 and I promise you, you’ll be tired. I nannied from 9-12:30, took the older girls to a birthday party across town and then headed over to the baseball field to watch my dad’s team play a couple of games. Mid-game, I left to come back and nanny for the remainder of the night. I live a very exciting life, let me tell y’all. 😉 I wouldn’t trade it for the world, though!

Sunday – March 19

Once a month, one of the groups I am apart of does dinner and a meeting. Tonight was one of the nights those nights. But, other than that, the day was really low-key and just what I needed to end the weekend.

What did y’all do this weekend? Today, I’m off to class and then headed out of a town for a quick trip to meet with my (new) advisor!

Leave a Reply

