Road Let’s Travel: Washington, D.C. (February 12)

Hey y’all! What’s good?

Today, I’m sharing day 4 of my Washington, D.C. trip with you all. You probably aren’t at all interested, as this trip was over a month ago. I’m a slacker… I’m sorry! If you’ve missed my last posts from this trip, I will link them below so you can get all caught up. That is, if you’re so inclined to do so.

After arriving back in D.C. after midnight (we drove to Philadelphia the day before), it was nice to be able to sleep in until 8 AM. Since when is 8 considered sleeping in?! But. Wait. No… Kennedy has awful luck. I woke up at 6:45 with a RAGING charlie horse! I hadn’t had one of these in years. So, it was an unpleasant and unexpected shock. Damn you, Mother Nature. Why do you have to do me like that?

The first thing on the schedule for this beautiful Sunday morning was a service at the Washington National Cathedral. This is where President Trump, and many – if not all – presidents before him, have their interfaith inaugural prayer service. I’m not Catholic, so every time I’ve been to a service at a Cathedral has been a treat. It is amazing that Christians of all denominations can share similar beliefs, but have such different services. The Cathedral itself was absolutely breathtaking. Again, there was a “no pictures” sign. (C’mon, D.C. Don’t y’all see that tourists just want a camera roll of memories?!) Lucky for me, I am a rebel and snuck a few. How can you expect me to travel from rinky-dink Waco and not get a few pictures?

IMG_8777.jpg

It is so big and SO beautiful. You can’t even get the building in a full iPhone picture. Pictures don’t even do it justice!

For lunch, we ate at Cactus Cantina. There is a general rule (in my family, anyways), that you are not allowed to eat at Mexican restaurants outside of Texas. I went the safe route and got the taquitos, because, if you mess these up, you don’t deserve to consider yourself a Mexican restaurant. The food and service was good! I was pleasantly surprised.

From Cactus Cantina, we headed to one of my favorite parts of the trip. We taxied to the Arlington National Cemetery. Cemeteries are melancholic in nature and not light hearted at all. But, this place was stunning. The history. To stand where so many people are buried; people who have had a crucial impact in our country and its freedom. It was special for me. I try my hardest not to take the life we live for granted. Especially when I’m at places such as this. We trolleyed up to the changing of the guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, which was such a neat experience. If you’re in D.C., it’s kind of anti-climactic, but definitely try to fit the changing of the guards in your schedule!

IMG_8816.jpg

Arlington National Cemetery

IMG_8823.JPG

Tomb of the Unknown Soldier (overlooking Washington, D.C.)

Next on the list was to go to the Pentagon Memorial, which is outside of the Pentagon. Now this is heartbreaking. It is an outside memorial, but you can listen to a tour via your phone and walk thru it. One of Texas’ senators, Brian Birdwell, was in the Pentagon when it was hit on September 11. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting him and hearing him tell his story. Long story short, when he got up to use the restroom, the plane hit where his office was. He was severely burned, and by the grace of God, survived the horrific attack. His testimony is truly incredible. Last May, I was the the World Trade Center in New York City. Again, after being able to experience these two memorials, I just really try not to take our freedom and safety for granted.

IMG_8879.JPG

Pentagon Memorial

To cap off the day, we headed to Teddy and the Bully Bar. I lack a mature palette, so I was very nervous (because, hi... not chicken tenders and ranch dressing). But, I got the crispy chicken with a carrot puree and tart apples and it was delicious! It was a clean building, modern and our waiter was friendly. I’d totally recommend it!

Thanks for reading! I’m so thankful I decided to start this blog because I’m loving getting to go back and relive this all!

Day 3

Day 2

Day 1

One thought on “Road Let’s Travel: Washington, D.C. (February 12)

Leave a Reply

