Road Let’s Travel: Washington, D.C. (February 14)

Hey y’all and welcome back to my blog.

I always give this disclaimer before I post, because I know you (the reader) probably don’t care about my trip from 3+ months ago. But, I still want to post about it for my recollection down the line. So, if you’re still reading, I hope you enjoy!

This was the last day of the trip (insert jazz hands here). It was sad, but exciting all at the same time. I was looking forward to getting home and getting back into a schedule, but was so stinking sad to leave the city. You all know what it’s like to travel. The experiences can’t be beat, but that bed of yours also can’t be beat. It’s a struggle!

The day began with a drive to Mt. Vernon in Virginia. Seeing George Washington’s old stomping grounds was really so neat! We had the lovely Mrs. (Alice) Starr join us on our trip. She is on a board here, so she was able to get us an exclusive peak that the general public isn’t able to see (if Mr. and Mrs. Starr happen to be reading this, I can’t thank them enough for their hospitality during this week… without them, we wouldn’t have been able to experience half of what we did). We also got to go up to the library on site, which was absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I wasn’t feeling the greatest, so most of this is all a blur in my head. I’ll insert some pictures below to hopefully make up for it.

IMG_8976.JPG

This is the house of our first president, George Dubs.

IMG_8980.JPG

Every morning, he got to wake up and see this view of the Potomac River. It was so beautiful and serene. I could wake up to this a thousand times and never get tired of it.

IMG_8992.JPG

Our group got to take part in a wreath laying ceremony at George Washington’s tomb/gravesite. He and his wife, I believe, are buried in the first big tomb. 28 other family members are buried behind the black door.

IMG_9001.JPG

This is the library on site. It is gated off to the general public, but we were able to get a little BTS tour. It was absolutely gorgeous – both inside and out!

IMG_9027.JPG

This is a room inside the library. This houses an abundance of belongings (books, letters, etc.) of George Washington. It was so neat to see some of the rooms!

After we spent the morning in Virginia, we were airport – and homeward – bound. I was very thankful that there was no major airport fiasco. If you missed the post that I wrote on the plane (“The Luck of the Irish”), then you’ll know that I had a major ticket issue. I was very nervous that, though it was fixed in Dallas, it wouldn’t be fixed in D.C. Thankfully, there were no problems.

However, if you read that same post, then you know I got stuck in the middle of a very sweet lady and one who had a complete meltdown. Well… what are the odds? Ms. Meltdown was spotted at our gate. (She was traveling to New York City, so this was an unexpected sight. It’s really a small world.) Who would have thought that she’d be on our flight, right? But wait. There’s more.

This time, rather than being in Group C, I was in Group B. I was so excited because my friends and I would get to sit together. There were 3 of us that were really looking forward to sitting together, so we were pumped that this time we’d be able to. Keep in mind, we flew Southwest. You are seated on a first come, first serve basis based on which group your ticket places you – I’ve been told this is based on when you check in, but I have yet to figure this one out. It’s really an airline created by the devil, if you ask me. Anyways… my friend, Meggie, was ahead of me and my other friend, Jared. Meggie was off to find us a row of 3. As Jared and I were walking back, I realized that Meggie only had 1 seat available, but I couldn’t see who was in the aisle seat. I thought it was being left open for a flight attendant. No problem. As I’m walking further back, because we were in the last row on the plane, I noticed Meggie giving me the eyes. If you have a friend and are in a “bad” situation, then you know these eyes. I immediately knew what was happening. I was seated next to no other than Ms. Meltdown. You. Have. Got. To. Be. Kidding. Me.

It was honestly a funny way to bring the trip full circle. She didn’t remember who I was, but I sure remember her. She blamed those sitting next to her on the way there for her meltdown (actually, her exact words were, “If the ladies next to me on the way there had been willing to talk, I wouldn’t have had a panic attack”). This frustrated me to no end because I did talk to her… to an extent. Am I the only one that would prefer to have a quick nap than make small talk with a complete stranger who I’ll never see again? Or, who you think you’ll never see again, that is. If you have my luck, you will definitely see them again, ha! I decided that I would put my headphones in and let my sweet friend do the talking this time.

In all seriousness, I am so very thankful to be able to have the luxury of traveling and seeing new sights. I know others are not so fortunate. Washington, D.C. was an absolutely breathtaking city. The history. The meaning. The significance. It was all mind boggling to me. If you haven’t been to this city, I think it should be on your list. I believe everybody needs to witness its beauty and the history of its beauty.

I hope you all enjoyed this trip. It was one I will never forget.

See you next post!

If you missed any other days and want to go read them, they are linked below:

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Leave a Reply

