Cruelty Free

Hey, y’all –

I recently decided to (attempt) to go cruelty free when it comes to makeup and beauty products. Now, I obviously cannot commit to going completely cruelty free, because that’s a lot to consider. However, I can certainly try my absolute best.

What exactly is “cruelty” when we’re discussing makeup and beauty products? These are companies that manufacture products that are tested on animals at some stage during the product’s development.

In the last few weeks, I’ve seen more and more people decide to go the cruelty free route. Naturally, I decided to do a little research and look at this topic for myself. I guess I figured that all companies – or a majority – had stopped testing on animals because it’s 2017. Here’s a spoiler: don’t make assumptions. Unbeknownst to me, I quickly figured out that this was not the case. In fact, I was astonished to see how many do test on animals. Animals used in experiments to test products are confined to small cages and inhumane conditions. They’re tortured, maimed, blinded, and even killed. All for the products that we use. Is it it worth it? I think not.

I’ve never been much of a make-up wearer. Most days, I put on a little concealer (because not even I want to see the bags under my eyes), mascara, and if I’m feeling real daring, a nude eyeshadow. But, based on the lists I’ve found when researching, a majority of what I’m putting on my face (including my freaking face wash) is tested on animals. This is so sad to me.

Cruelty-Free Kitty, along with PETA, have been great sources of my information (both of these sites are linked at the bottom of this post if you feel so inclined to check them out). If I find a fact on a website, or elsewhere, I always dig a little more to make sure that it is as accurate as possible. Here are some of the main brands that I use and whether or not they are cruelty free:

CoverGirl – NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

MaryKay – NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

L’Oreal – NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

Rimmel London – NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

Maybelline – NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

Urban Decay – CRUELTY FREE (They do not test on animals.)

Bareminerals – CRUELTY FREE (They do not test on animals.)

Neutrogena – I have found that some products are and some products are not tested on animals. PETA claims that they are not cruelty free, but some products that I have found are stamped that they are, indeed, cruelty free. I’d say that your own discretion is advised.

Biore CRUELTY FREE (They do not test on animals.)

St. Ives NOT CRUELTY FREE (They do test on animals.)

Do you see how sad this is to me? 3 out of 10 of the companies that I use on a daily basis do not test their products on animals. That means that more than half (70% if we’re being statistically correct… because #math) of my products ARE tested on animals. I just want to know if this is necessary for these companies? If one can make products that don’t require animal testing, why can’t they all?

*Please note that you should always do your own research. When you read this, company policies may have changed. This list is up to date as of July 21, 2017.

If you have any products that you love that are cruelty free, I’d love to hear. I’m currently on the hunt for a whole new make up and beauty stash! 😉

Websites mentioned in this post: CrueltyFreeKitty and PETA

2 thoughts on “Cruelty Free

Leave a Reply

