Cruelty Free: Is It Tested on Animals?

Hey y’all –

“Is this product cruelty free?” is the question that even I am finding myself struggling with these days.

If you’ve been reading recently, you’d know that I decided to (slowly) transition to a cruelty free beauty regimen. I’ve spent hours researching and finding websites and bloggers that I can trust. But, how do you know if everything you read is factual? Is a company really considered cruelty free? After researching, these are ways that I have determined are helpful in deciding what brands and products are or aren’t tested on animals:

(1) Get in contact with the company. 

This is the most accurate way you can figure out whether something is or isn’t cruelty free. It is the one way you are going to get answers to your own questions. By emailing a company, you’re in control of the questions that are asked. But, the problem with this is that it isn’t necessarily time friendly. If you’re in a store and wanting to purchase a product, a company isn’t typically going to get back in contact with you within 30 seconds.

(2) Check the product for the certified cruelty free logos. 

Most companies, when they are cruelty free, use a certified bunny logo on their products. There are a few variations of the bunny, so you have to be careful and knowledgeable on which ones are the accurate ones. I’ll be honest – I’ve fallen for a scam. Some companies will scam consumers and post a non-certified logo. If you are unsure, you can always google and figure it out.

(3) Use a cruelty free app or find a trusted website to find a list of companies. 

This is an easy way to figure out what is and isn’t cruelty free. I have the apps Cruelty-Cutter and Bunny Free on my phone. You can scan products and they come right up. Some products aren’t on there, unfortunately. That is when I go to a trust website to find a list of companies. I’ve mentioned before that Peta and CrueltyFreeKitty are my favorite finds.

I hope this helps someone. Going CF is not for everybody… and I’m quickly figuring this out. It can be time consuming and tedious to figure out what companies carry out which ethics. Like I’ve said before, knowledge and awareness is the best thing you can do. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

